Uncategorized

Excerpts of a letter to my mom on Mother’s Day

Saturday, May 7. 2016

Mom-

I write this to you on the eve of your first Mother’s Day without Jake. My heart aches for you. My heart aches for me, too. But, mothers aren’t supposed to grieve their children, or lose their children. Being a mother myself, I can imagine your pain, but I can’t bear to linger there. I don’t have the strength inside me. Maybe you don’t either, but still, you persevere.

I know your soul feels loss, but I hope this book can be your companion to restoration. It might take time, and that is perfectly OK. But, allow yourself peace. Do not build up walls to trap in your grief. Grief doesn’t need any help overstaying it’s welcome

I love you, mama. Happy Mother’s Day.

Leave a Reply

