Faith · Family

Lazy Liturgical Living- July Spotlight

Yes, I am a week late. I can try to make excuses, but they are all the same–life is busy and I have kids. That is the way it will always be. Which is why Lazy Liturgical Living is so perfect for me. Before I leap into July, here are some pictures of how LLL-June went.

20160603_174601.jpg
Coloring an image of The Sacred Heart while I pray.

 

received_10206890809565812.jpeg
A Parade for Pro Ecclesia Sancta in Lima, Peru. Our Priests, Brothers and Sisters belong to this order which was founded on the Feast of Sts Peter and Paul in 1992.

 

 

July is right in the thick of ordinary time, and liturgically speaking, is sort of uneventful around these parts. We don’t have a lot of Feast days with personal significance. But, I read The Little Oratory at the beginning of the Liturgical Year, and re-read the part about how each month is dedicated to something particular.

July is dedicated to the Most Precious Blood of Jesus. So, this month, I made sure to highlight that on my little kitchen white-board calendar. There is a prayer to the Most Precious Blood; however, I can’t fit that on the board, so I went with the Anima Christi. Mostly, because it was the only one I could think of, off the top of my head, where His Precious Blood is specifically mentioned. 20160709_192658.jpg

Feast Days that we plan on celebrating this month are:

St Kateri on July 14– St Kateri is important to us because St Kateri was the first Native North American Saint canonized. My husband’s is 1/4 Native American. The Chapel in South Dakota where many of his family funeral services are held has a shrine to St Kateri, too.
I printed a coloring sheet for St Kateri for the 7-year-old. And, I will read about her life. And, we will probably make Indian tacos (basically regular Americanized tacos- ground beef, shredded cheese and lettuce and fixings, just in frybread instead of a tortilla). We don’t use that recipe, I don’t know what recipe the husband uses, probably there isn’t one written down. But, I thought it might be nice to include a link to one. Let me know how it goes if you use it. And, since she is the Patron Saint of environmental issues, I think we will probably incorporate something outside.

As an aside, another of St Kateri’s patronages is “those in exile” which is relevant for the world these days.

Our Lady of Mount Carmel– July 16th is the Feast of Our Lady of Mount Carmel. I do not have a scapular, and this will be the first time celebrating this Feast. There is a Novena that should have started yesterday. I think I will probably be really low key with this one and just talk to my kids (the toddlers wont listen– heck, the 7-year-old might not) about Our Lady of Mount Carmel, and incorporate caramel into dessert. Ice cream with caramel syrup probably.

I have the feast days of St Mary Magdalen, St Martha, and Sts Joachim and Anne on the calendar. Those will be last minute decisions as to weather we do more than talk about them and have dessert. And, probably dessert wont have any liturgical significance. That is the point of having Lazy Liturgical celebrations. It’s all I can count on myself for these days.

If you notice from my calendar, I also started a book club. We are reading Divine Mercy for Moms. I have an In-Real-Life club with some lovely ladies from my Parish, and there is an online only club with over 100 members and it is co-administered by Karee Santos, and the authors are posting daily reflections. It’s pretty awesome. We just had our first discussion today, and it was for the intro- so check it out if you are interested. It is a closed group- but request to be added and we will add you!

And, finally- Rosie is hosting a Pants Free July again. I am participating, though mostly silently, because taking pictures of myself daily is not fun.

Totally unrelated, but how cute are these two?

Leave a Reply

