Uncategorized

31 Days: Why I am Catholic  {The Holy Spirit}

Confession: I sat down to write this post and ended up staring at a blank page for many minutes. I realized, rather embarrassingly, I don’t have much to say about the third person of the Trinity.

I mean, I know of the Holy Spirit, but it’s kind of like how I “know” the girl two cubes down at work. I know her name, and what her title is, and sorta what she does all day, but I don’t really know her. 

The Holy Spirit is the third person of the Trinity. He is symbolized by wind, the dove, and fire (on the tongues, a la Pentecost). He is “the Lord, the giver of life, who proceeds from the Father and Son, who with the Father and Son is adored and glorified. He has spoken through the prophets”, so says the Nicene Creed. 

I know (head know, maybe not heart know) that it’s through the Holy Spirit I came to know God, and that the Holy Spirit is the force that aids in discernment, the force that moves through miracles, inspired the authors of the Bible, acts to gaurd the Faith on earth.

The Holy Spirit is the glue that holds the Church together. And one that I need to make an effort to know more on a personal level.

Leave a Reply

